Make-up I can’t live without…

First off, apologies for being a shit blogger of late. I had a mental week at uni doing tech, plus a little hospital trip (oh hey there, Mirena coil…) and then a week after to “recover” as it were. Sorry to anyone who avidly waits for my blog updates…

Anyway, I realised I haven’t done a make-up post yet, despite the fact I worked for Clinique for 4 years and really do love make-up. What you can see in the picture above is a NYX haul that I purchased from Boots a couple of weeks ago but that was probably the first time I’ve actively bought make-up in about a year. I’ve maybe purchased the occasional lipstick (nobody ask how many red lipsticks I have…) or re-bought a foundation/eyeliner/mascara, but I haven’t purchased anything just for a sheer hell of it in ages. Having worked for a make up company which requires you to wear make-up every day I kind of went off wearing make-up. I’d occasionally wear a few basics, but generally I’d just turn up to uni with a bit of moisturiser on and hope that the spot turning into a mountain on my chin wasn’t glaring everybody in the face. Having said that though there are still some make-up essentials that I genuinely can’t live without.

13221116_10153527655302109_6091587182250202172_n

1. SPF

Okay, so I get it, technically this isn’t actually make-up but I cannot live without SPF. Clinique City Block SPF40 is my absolute favourite – it has a slight tint (but no colour!) giving your skin a nice dewy glow and offering you excellent protection from the sun and packed full of antioxidants. City Block also comes in SPF25 for those of you that aren’t s pale as a piece of paper… Ultimately though if there’s one thing I would urge you to use every single day, it’s SPF, whether it’s in your moisturiser, foundation or separate.

2. Mascara

Mascara is one of those things where unless you find the holy grail you’ll probably go through about 6 mascaras a year (no? Just me?). Basically though, I love it. I’ve got quite short straight lashes so anything that can lengthen, curl and define is a winner for me. It just opens the eyes so much more, although I wish that I could not cover my upper lash line with mascara bits when applying. That’d be nice… I’m currently using this Liz Earle beaut. Also! A tip for applying mascara – get a hand held mirror and hold it underneath your chin so you’re looking down into the mirror. Apply the mascara by wiggling through the lashes. It minimises the amount of mascara you end up with on your eyelids whilst giving you sexy, lengthy lashes.

3. Eyeliner

Eyeliner is amazing stuff really. Covers the fact you’ve got half a bottle of mascara on your lashline (it really is the bane of my life…) and also helps make your eyes look wider and more awake. As a day to day staple there’s nothing like a good black eyeliner. Personally, although I love liquid and pencil equally, I find pencil more practical day to day especially if it’s got a little smudger for any screw ups. My favourite is this Clinique QuickLiner for eyes in Really Black. As for liquid I used to adore Eyeko Skinny Liquid Eyeliner (thank you Glamour mag freebies) but NYX Two Timer Dual Ended Eyeliner has taken over and I’ve found a new liquid soulmate (that isn’t wine).

4. BB Cream/Tinted Moisturiser

To say I hate foundation would probably be a bit of an overstatement, it’s just that I find it a bit of a hassle. Applying it is messy, making it last is laborious and taking it off is a right scrubbing session. It’s probably because I have oily skin and therefore find foundations that don’t split on my skin/slide off incredibly hard to find, although shout out to No7 Beautifully Matte for doing the job no-one else could. Anyway, for day to day if I feel like I want some coverage I tend to stick to BB creams or tinted moisturisers. I love Bobbi Brown Brightening BB Cream – doesn’t slide off, keeps me hydrated and lasts all day whilst giving a decent coverage. Also I adore Clinique Moisture Surge Tinted Moisturiser – SO good.

5. Brows

Brows are particularly important if you wear glasses I feel. They add some definition and just look damn good if done right. So no Nike ticks or thin lines, if possible, kthx. For a simple day-to-day look I tend to stick more to brow mascaras. Although Benefit Gimme Brow is the dream, I’ve found NYX Tinted Brow Mascara and Rimmel Brow This Way to be excellent, cheap alternatives. For nights out or days where I’ve got time to do my make-up properly my go to is Clinique Superfine Liner for Brows (I swear I don’t get paid by Clinique anymore…). It’s so thin and so good at making your brows look darker and more defined.

6. Lipstick


Last but not least the bae that is lipstick. I have an addiction. I have a whole Victoria’s Secret bag full of the damn things – YSL, Tom Ford, Chanel, Rimmel, Bourjois, MAC… They’re all in there and I love them all, despite the fact there are some I have never ever worn, I need to have them on standby because lets face it you just know that there will be an occasion where you need MAC New York Apple and if you don’t have it you’ll never forgive yourself… NYX Soft Matte lip cream is insanely good and ideal for day-to-day lipstick wear. Clinique Chubby Sticks are the absolute best for if you want to wear colour but don’t want to have to worry about wear or needing a mirror for re-application. But I’ll be really honest – I’ll try and use any lipstick. Especially red. Because you actually can’t ever have too many reds.

 

8 thoughts on “Make-up I can’t live without…

Leave a Reply

